Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free?

Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free?  Well, they are now!!  After some changes in “technology” Rice Krispies can now be made without the malt flavoring that added gluten to the cereal.  Here is the explanation, made by Joe Schwarcz , the director of McGill University’s Office for Science and Society!

Gluten-free snap, crackle, pop draws attention to celiac disease

The malt flavouring is gone! Celiac sufferers are no longer limited to listening to the snap, crackle and pop of Rice Krispies! They can actually eat the cereal that has been music to the ears of legions since 1928 but has been verboten for anyone with a sensitivity to gluten, the mixture of proteins found in wheat, barley and rye. Rice contains no gluten and is in general a staple for celiac sufferers. But malt flavouring, a standard ingredient in Rice Krispies, can harbour a trace of gluten, enough to cause misery.

If you are interested in trying the original Gluten Free Rice Krispies, here is a link for you:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.