Arsenic in Rice

If you are eating a large quantity of rice, you may need to re-evaluate your diet.  According to Arsenic in Ricerecent findings, rice contains a larger level of arsenic than other cereal grains.  Being on a gluten free diet, I personally, have increased my rice consumption.  Thankfully, the article does give some tips in helping consumers reduce the amount of arsenic they have in their rice.

Gluten-Free Diet, Arsenic, and Rice

A couple months ago I was asked to look into the issue of arsenic in rice. I hesitated because I was concerned about raising undue concern among those with celiac disease who must follow a gluten-free diet. I looked at my own gluten-free diet which I don’t consider to be rice based. The cereal, crackers, and waffles (which I use as bread) are rice based and I frequently eat rice at lunch or dinner. This got me wondering whether I needed to be concerned about the arsenic levels in my own diet. Arsenic in rice may be an important issue for people who follow a gluten-free diet if it is largely rice based. Fortunately, gluten-free diets do not have to be rice based. There are so many other gluten-free grains and flours to choose from and so many ready-made cereals, bread products, and pastas made from grains other than rice. It is a good idea to not eat too much of any food. As poet William Cowper said, “Variety’s the very spice of life, That gives it all its flavor.”


Another point that the article did not go into an detail is the availability of other gluten grains and celiac or gluten intolerant person can consume.  The list of good gluten free grains is longer than most people realize.  My personal favorite in quinoa — I love the taste and texture!

If you are interested in finding out more information on gluten free grains, check out this article:

What Grains are Gluten-Free


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.